Envisioning and building the industry of tomorrow

For the past 7 years, SYMOP has made the revival of the French industry its top priority, initially with robotics and now with productive investment. A pioneering work in 2009 based on provision of information and a firm belief that is vital for the France of today and tomorrow.
Concrete and useful steps to the benefit of the common good which have a tangible impact on how industrial manufacturers adapt to production problems and which help to raise the awareness of French people. This effort will be continued as for too long industry has not been on the list of national concerns.

Why a manifesto?

A manifesto is urgently needed because France must transition to the digital age. With this manifesto for productive investment, the aim of our professional organisation is to firmly tackle this structural and cultural problem.
Through the Gallois report, an important agenda has been opened in relation to price and non-price competitiveness. This must continue and form part of a collective goal shared by all.
We must be bold. By the end of the next French President’s term of office and based on a different model, industrial production must recover its position in creating national wealth. We must take charge of the digital transformation to provide leverage for the necessary upmarket move of our productive fabric.
This approach therefore conveys an ambitious determination. By giving industry leaders, economists and researchers the opportunity to express their views, SYMOP has gathered testimonials of innovative production methods that have been successful at a national scale to offer key guidelines in support of industry during this election period.


What exactly is at issue here?

Productive investment… In other words, pure capabilities for investing productivity gains, which must further strengthen the effectiveness of the production tool, and the investment in new industrial technologies, which is the basis for more customer-focused services and optimised management.

What are we proposing?

A term pledge… a common goal between industrial manufacturers and public authorities for the next 5 years. A shared strategic direction to help companies come to terms with the transformation currently taking place and to successfully achieve the expected upmarket move. A five-year term during which investment in productive innovation, combined with training and increasing the skills of employees, will be the necessary prerequisites for revival of the French industry.

What are the challenges?

Production tools must be modernised and non-price competitiveness must be enhanced. This approach may act as a “passport” giving companies access to new export markets and as a driver to initiate a process for the return of production to France.
The 1st solution would be to make investments so as to increase productivity and to produce “quicker and better”… In this age of the digital economy, some of the many challenges to be addressed by our small and medium industries include the installation of advanced simulation and design tools, development of connected tools, optimisation of the production chain and the improvement of product quality.
On account of the resulting productivity gains, innovative production technologies must be viewed by businesses as growth levers and vectors of economic development. In other words, it is the power of the production tool which provides the possibility to tap into an upscale market (which by definition will be demanding) and not the market which must determine the status of the productive equipment.
It is fundamental to allow our small and medium industries to be equipped with a modern and competitive tool in light of the requirements of major buyers and the competition imposed by emerging countries.

Ultimately, innovate to become more agile, manufacture “in real time” and ultimately produce in France

The concept of “work flexibility” is currently a topical issue. However, with the advent of data, the challenges of flexibility and agility on the production equipment are equally decisive, albeit marginalised, factors. The quest for innovative industrial resources (data control, virtualisation, lean manufacturing) must enable the production tool to become agile and therefore respond in real time to the changes and expectations of the markets.
This is also true for the management of production costs. Therefore, production technologies (on account of the related gains) are a major source of differentiation and innovation and fundamentally impact the final cost.

Penser et bâtir l’industrie de demain

Depuis 7 années le Symop a fait du redressement de l’industrie française sa priorité absolue, avec la robotique d’abord, sur l’investissement productif maintenant. Un travail d’information et de conviction, précurseur en 2009, nécessaire aujourd’hui et indispensable pour demain.

Une action utile au service de l’intérêt général avec un impact concret sur l’adaptation des industriels aux problématiques de production et la sensibilisation des Français. Un engagement qui sera poursuivi car, depuis trop longtemps, l’industrie a été n’est plus une préoccupation nationale.

Pourquoi un manifeste ?

Parce qu’il y a urgence … la France doit prendre le virage numérique. Notre organisation professionnelle, avec ce manifeste pour l’investissement productif, a souhaité prendre ce problème structurel mais aussi culturel, à bras-le-corps.

Avec le rapport Gallois, un chantier important a été ouvert sur la compétitivité, coût et hors coût. Il doit le rester et s’inscrire dans une ambition collective, partagée de tous.

Soyons audacieux. D’ici la fin du prochain quinquennat, la production industrielle doit retrouver, sous un modèle différent, sa place dans la création de richesse nationale. Nous devons prendre en main la transformation numérique, levier de la nécessaire montée en gamme de notre tissu productif.

Cette démarche est donc l’expression d’un volontarisme ambitieux. En donnant la parole à des capitaines d’industrie, des économistes, et chercheurs, le Symop a rassemblé des témoignages de méthodes productives innovantes et de réussites nationales pour proposer, en cette période électorale, des orientations clés en faveur de l’industrie.


De quoi parlons-nous ?

D’investissement productif… En d’autres termes, des pures capacités de l’investissement de productivité, qui doit renforcer l’efficacité de l’outil productif, et de l’investissement dans les nouvelles technologies industrielles, qui conditionne une offre plus proche du client et une gestion optimisée.

Que proposons-nous ?

Un contrat de mandature…un objectif commun entre industriels et pouvoirs publics pour les 5 prochaines années. Un cap partagé pour accompagner nos entreprises dans la transformation en cours et réussir la montée en gamme attendue. Un mandat au sein duquel investissement et innovation productive seront, aux cotés de la formation et la montée en compétence des travailleurs, les conditions sine qua non du renouveau industriel français.

Quels sont les enjeux ?

Il faut moderniser son outil de production et renforcer la compétitivité hors court. Cette démarche peut agir comme un « passeport » pour gagner de nouveaux marchés à l’export, comme un levier pour engager un processus de relocalisation de la production.

La 1ère solution serait…d’investir pour gagner en productivité et produire « plus vite et mieux » … Installation d’outils avancés de simulation et de conception, développement d’outils connectés, optimisation de la chaîne de production, amélioration de la qualité produit … sont les nombreux défis que doivent relever nos PMI, à l’heure de l’économie numérique.

Par les gains de productivité qu’elles entraînent, les technologies de production innovantes doivent être perçues par les entreprises comme des leviers de croissance et des vecteurs de développement économique. En d’autres termes, c’est la puissance de l’outil de production qui permet de se positionner sur un marché haut de gamme (qui sera par définition exigeant) et non pas le marché qui doit conditionner l’état de l’appareil productif.

Devant les exigences des grands donneurs d’ordres et face à la concurrence imposée par les pays émergents, permettre à nos PMI d’être équipées d’un outil de production moderne et compétitif est une nécessité absolue.

Ensuite…innover pour gagner en agilité, fabriquer « en temps réel » et in fine produire en France

La notion de « flexibilité du travail » est actuellement très présente dans le débat public. Pour autant, avec l’arrivée de la data, les enjeux de flexibilité et d’agilité sur l’appareil de production sont tout aussi déterminants. Or, ils sont marginalisés. La recherche de moyens industriels innovants (maitrise des données, virtualisation, lean) doit donc permettre à l’outil de production de gagner en agilité et ainsi répondre en temps réel aux évolutions et aux attentes des marchés.
Un constat qui prévaut aussi pour la maîtrise des coûts de production. En ce sens, les technologies de production (par les gains qu’elles permettent) sont un facteur majeur de différenciation et d’innovation et ont un impact déterminant sur le coût final.

Télécharger le Manifeste